Frequently Asked Questions
"WE TEACH RESPONSIBLE PISTOL OWNERSHIP, MARKSMANSHIP, AND SAFETY"
What makes us different from all the other schools are the following:
How old do you have to be to enroll in classes?
Students enrolling in all classes provided by GPA must be 16 years or older however, laws will prevent
any student from obtaining a CCL under the age of 21. (if under 18, must have parent or legal guardian)
Will I get to shoot a gun?
After completing Phase 1, Basic Pistol Training course, there will be range training with live pistols and ammunition.
Can I bring my gun to the classroom sessions?
NO, student guns and ammo are NOT permitted in the classroom. (please leave your gun secured in a compartment of your vehicle until you have been asked to go get it)
Can I bring my own gun to range lessons?
**Bringing your own Pistol to range coaching is encouraged but not necessary. Be sure to have it
unloaded, in a gun case or range bag, with ammo in a separate compartment prior to entering the building.
(if you do not bring your pistol, there is a $10 donation requested for cleaning and ammunition)
**For Rifles, please have them unloaded, in a gun case, and ammo in a separate compartment. Please plan
before your coaching date, to have purchased a proper gun case as the packaging rifles are shipped in are NOT
a safe alternative. 5 Star Firearms sells affordable gun cases at there store and online here:
(if you do not bring your rifle, there is a $15 donation requested for cleaning our rental)
Will I get my Concealed Carry Permit?
Yes! You will be eligible to apply only after you have successfully completed 16 hours of training as required by Illinois State law. (GPA Phase 1 and Phase 2 satisfy this requirement)
Assistance on Illinois Concealed Carry Application is provided if needed.
Note: Other state requirements may vary. Please see "State Requirements" on the "Resources" Page
What classes do you offer?
*Pre-registration for all courses is required*
For more information about the courses GPA offers, visit the "Courses" Page
Where is the classroom?
Inside 5 Star Firearms (41666 N Sheridan Rd. Zion, IL 60099) near the Shooting Range across
the hall from the Gunsmith's Room. You can also ask a 5 Star associate to direct you.
How much does it cost?
Depending on the course, prices vary.
**Please, visit the "Courses" Page for complete details.
Depending on the course.
What do I need to bring to class?
Notepad, pen, highlighter, beverage, snacks and a lunch. (vending machines with snacks and beverages are
available on site and fast food restaurants are located near by)
When are the courses?
Classes are scheduled in advance and are posted on the GPA Calendar.
To see the calendar, visit "Schedule" page
How long are the courses?
Depending on the course, between 4 and 8 hours.
For more information, visit the "Courses" page
Am I required to submit fingerprints with my Illinois application?
No. If you choose to submit your application without electronic fingerprints, your application may require
additional research and may take an additional 30 days.
How long does it take to receive my Illinois Concealed Carry License?
The Illinois State Police do a great job in beating every deadline given to them. You should receive your Illinois Concealed Carry license in 90 days, if you have submitted electronic "LiveScan" fingerprints, or in 120 days without electronic fingerprints.
***Please allow extra processing time for ISP due to the current pandemic***